Westmore Awards Announced

Press Release:

George Westmore Awards Announced

George Westmore Award
George Westmore Award

The George Westmore Research Library & Museum, revives the annual “George Westmore Lifetime Achievement Award” and announces the creation of a George Westmore, “Award of Excellence” to be an industry wide celebration of excellence in makeup and hair design.

Recipients of the awards were announced at a press conference on Monday, June 23, 2008, at the George Westmore Research Library & Museum in Burbank, California.

Certificates as well as statues were handed out before the press and representatives of the media.

Monty G. Westmore received a standing ovation when he accepted the first George Westmore Lifetime Achievement Award at the inaugural Hollywood Makeup Artist and Hair Stylist Guild Awards in 2001. Since the time Monty received his award the Makeup Guild has not focused on recognizing it’s members achievements.

Museum President, commented about the increased responsibility, “We felt that this was the proper thing to do. It is important to promote outstanding excellence and individual contributions in Makeup & Hair Design. This not only promotes professional excellence but inspires the younger members of our profession.” He said, “This is very exciting and we intend to expand the awards each year.” “We have received a great deal of positive input and support from within and outside the industry.”


The awards recognize individual, excellence in Motion Picture, Television, Theatrical Stage, Live Performances, Opera, Print Publication and Advertising, which includes a Lifetime Achievement Award.

A few of the 2008 recipients include:

On Makeup Magazine, Michael DeVellis

Vincent “J-R” Kehoe

Mr. Tony Tanaka

Mr. Tony Tanaka
Mr. Tony Tanaka

Additional information about the award and a list of current recipients can be obtained by e-mail request at: info@WestmoreMuseum.com

  • Calendar

    • September 2019
      M T W T F S S
      « Aug    
  • Search